Skip to main content
 EOA Logo Main Page
HomeMN TRIO Professional Development
To add a link to the left side, click in the white space below the existing links.Use the link builder in the toolbar to add a link. The page will automatically style the links. To edit colors, edit the html, and change #4c4c4c and #a12422 to the colors you want. Be careful removing existing links. Don't backspace too far, it'd be better if you edited the html.


Professional Development

Members Involved in Leadership & Engagement (MILE) Program

Purpose: To create a network of engaged TRIO professionals while gaining knowledge of MN TRIO, Educational Opportunity Association (EOA) and Council for Opportunity in Education (COE); importance of state and federal advocacy; and to critically think about enhancing the quality of the MN TRIO association.


Target Members: Twenty MN TRIO professionals

  1. Anyone who is interested in learning more about TRIO history and associations;
  2. Newer professionals;
  3. Seasoned professionals who want to be more involved;
  4. Minimal involvement on state (MNTRIO) level;
  5. Want to learn new leadership skills;
  6. Interested in learning and expanding professional development skills;
  7. Interested in networking and building community


Program Highlights: 

  • Five meeting times (Must be able to commit to all dates)

    February 5th- 6th, 2016 – Duluth, MN

    March – Online

    April 18th -21st, 2016 - Rochester, MN (Tri State Conference)

    May 13th, 2016 – Minneapolis (EOA board meeting)

    September 23rd, 2016 – Location TBD (MNTRIO Board Mtg)

  • Participation fee of $75.00 (Can be paid by program/institution).  MN TRIO will pay for cost of meals and lodging accommodations during meetings.
  • Curriculum may include but not be limited to; TRIO History, mentoring, evaluation, leadership assessments/reflections, quality improvement tools, readings, MN TRIO committee member work, networking and final presentation to the MN TRIO board.

(Application process is currently closed.)

2015-2016 MILE Cohort
Naomi Farabee Augsburg College Mc Nair
Emily Galzki Anoka Ramsey CC UB
Ryan Hanson North Hennepin CC SSS
Cha Her MN State U-Mankato SSS
James Hoppe College of St. Scholastica ETS
Rachel Juen Century College SSS
James Kirchner Normandale CC SSS
Julie Jo Larson Central Lakes College SSS
Ruby Murillo Inver Hills CC SSS
Zachary Olson Bemidji State University UB
Awale Osman Normandale CC SSS
Kenneth White Dakota County Tech College UB
Pa Yong Xiong Metropolitan State University SSS
Der Yang MCTC
Tricia Wilkinson
University of MN-Twin Cities
Andrew Cseter Metropolitan State University

EOA Foundation

The EOA Foundation provides scholarships and awards to TRIO and educational opportunity program students in the ten-state region served by EOA.


Voicemail: (708)303-8372
PO Box 3443
Lawrence, KS 66046