Skip to main content
 EOA Logo Main Page
HomeELI Scholarship

Emerging Leaders Scholarship





Eligibility: One award to a EOA recipient. Each Chapter may select a semifinalist (Illinois, Indiana, Iowa,  Michigan, Missouri/Kansas/Nebraska, Minnesota, Ohio, and Wisconsin).  


 Amount: $1,000


Description: The Emerging Leaders Scholarship was established in 2001 when professionals enrolled in the Association's Emerging Leaders Institute (ELI) made an initial contribution of $300. The ELI class of 2002 established a goal to raise $2,002 of the Foundation's scholarships. Almost every ELI class since 2002 has held fundraisers during the EOA Annual Conference to support the EOA Foundation scholarships. The first Emerging Leaders Scholarship was awarded in 2014. 

Selection criteria include participation in a TRIO/EOP program, enrollment in or anticipated enrollment in an accredited two or four-year post-secondary institution, cumulative GPA of 2.5 or above, and demonstrated strong leadership in their community and/or advocacy efforts in their community. Each EOA chapter scholarship committee will select a semi-finalist from their respective chapter. The EOA scholarship committee appoints readers to select the finalist each year. 

Click on the Links Below to Access the ELI Scholarship in each Chapter:


                                     ELI Scholarship Recipients                                    

  2016 McKenna Kilburg Central College, Pella, IA
  2015 Lauralee Redmond Western Michigan University, Kalamazoo, MI
2014 Jacy Gomez TRIO Student Support Services, Simpson College, IA

EOA Foundation

The EOA Foundation provides scholarships and awards to TRIO and educational opportunity program students in the ten-state region served by EOA.


Voicemail: (708)303-8372
PO Box 3443
Lawrence, KS 66046