Skip to main content
 EOA Logo Main Page
HomeMitchem/McNair Graduate Fellowship

     Arnold Mitchem/Ronald E. McNair Graduate Fellowship



       Eligibility: Iowa and Michigan 

       (Chapter recipients rotate annually).


       Amount: One award of $1,000 to each Chapter



Description: This fellowship was founded and funded initially by the Wisconsin chapter of EOA (WAEOPP). The award consists of one $1,000 fellowship for students pursuing graduate studies, defined as academic programs that result in the individual obtaining a Master’s or Doctorate Degree. It does not include terminal or professional degrees. The fellowship recognizes the leadership and vision of Dr. Arnold Mitchem, former President of the Council for Opportunity in Education who has dedicated his life for the betterment of educational opportunity for first-generation, low-income and disabled students. 

Click on the Links Below to Access the Scholarship in each State:


                           Mitchem/McNair Scholarship Recipients                          

  2015  Justin Christopher University of Cincinnati, Cincinnati, OH

Lee Yang University of Wisconsin-LaCrosse, LaCrosse, WI

Larry Davis University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI

Siblee Salamon Bowling Green State University, Bowling Green, OH

  2014 Audreanna Shannon Western MI University in Counseling Education/Psychology
  Amanda Moua  University of Minnesota - Twin Cities MSW Program 


EOA Foundation

The EOA Foundation provides scholarships and awards to TRIO and educational opportunity program students in the ten-state region served by EOA.


Voicemail: (708)303-8372
PO Box 3443
Lawrence, KS 66046